XML sitemap
How to create your XML sitemap for search engines to easily find and index your website
Watch how to turn on, edit and submit your XML sitemap. Click a step under the replay to jump to it, or click the replay to pause.
An XML sitemap is a file that lists all the pages on a website, helping search engines like Google find and index them easily.
It guides search engines like Google to the content you want noticed, improving visibility in search results.
We help you edit XML sitemap and manage sub sitemap & URLs.
All Shopify stores automatically generate a sitemap.xml file here: yourdomain.com/sitemap.xml.
What is sub sitemap?
A sub sitemap: is a smaller, focused section of an XML sitemap that groups specific types of pages, like blog posts, product pages, or categories.
Sub sitemap helps organize large websites by breaking down the sitemap into manageable parts, making it easier for search engines to crawl and understand content by topic or structure.
Create & submit XML sitemap
Turn on XML sitemap
Go to Indexing -> Click Sitemap generator -> Turn on XML sitemap -> Click Save
Manage sub sitemap
You can select sub sitemap and URL you want to include in sitemap.
In URL management, you can add or exclude each URL to sitemap.
Submit sitemap
Click Update for the latest sitemap -> Click Submit
You need to connect your Google Search Console account to submit sitemap.
If you turn off XML sitemap (that has been submitted to Google Search Console), sitemap will stay in the GSC but all URLs in sitemap will be deleted.
Custom XML sitemap
In Settings, click Edit
Edit your settings
You have options to custom XML sitemap:
- Set URL count limit for each sub sitemap: Set a limit for the number of URL in each sitemap. If number of URLs in a sitemap exceeds limit, a new sub sitemap will be auto-created.
- Set rules to auto-exclude pages from sitemap
- Add additional URLs to each section of the sitemap
- Set auto-update frequency (Weekly or Real-time): Sitemap will be updated automatically when you add new pages to your site (products, collections or blog posts). This option only shows for stores where it has been turned on.
Click Save, then click Close.